top of page
  • Writer's pictureYaqin Zhang

A digression and some meaningful discussion (Don't we need it sometimes?)


a meme I made that does not make any sense but makes you think

Here are some AI generated texts [1] that are related to Buddhism.


"Read me a Buddhism poem"

It discusses the craving for truth.


"Read me a Buddhism poem"

read me a Buddhism poem

Dumb as dirt can be

I love you.I love you.I love you.

(Krishita, 3rd Verse)


You will be with me.You will be with me.

And with you

I'll be the one that will bring you hope

For every night I will be with you.

And you will be with me

I'll be the one who will bring you peace

For every night I'll be with you.

And you will be with me

I'll be the one that will bring you hope

And you will be with me!

You will be your own leader,

And all your children will be yours.


You will live forever.

And you'll die forever.

Because

All of the dead will be reborn with you

As children to watch over your children.


You might want to stay up and do well, but eventually

You'll have to go back to the old style

That you used to walk back to when your parents

Ride around,

Climbing around.


Let's get to it.


All of the dead will die.

Because

All of the dead will die forever

And you will live forever…

This is all right.

Yes, I can

Wow, it really dives deeply into the discussion of craving for love.


"Read me a Buddhism poem"

Does Buddhism also say something about serving one's country? I learned something new about Buddhism!


"Read me a Buddhism poem"

What is this pretty good place? Is it perhaps Nirvana, the place where all Buddhists aspire, the place that is the cessation of desire and hence the end of suffering?


"Read me a Buddhism story"


"When I asked about it, my son said: 'Look, there has been a big bang going on in the sky. The heavens are filled with this energy'. Then, suddenly and with the first thump of a ball, he saw a huge moon which was quite small. He also noticed the sound of thunder and saw four pillars descending up towards the sky". "One day, the sky was shaking and this is what happened: There was a 'shockwave'. Suddenly, another thunderwave appeared - it sounded like thunder, and that shook the heavens and filled the sky and the sky shook with lightning and the dust all shook. At that time, lightning flashed and when the light of lightning went to the top of the sky there was a thud like a cannon blast. All of a sudden, the sky trembled and suddenly there was a boom like a thundercloud, then a great thud like a tornado. All the things had just happened, all the things about this sky filled like a tornado. The sky became like a great tornado once more. Then suddenly, suddenly! In one continuous moment, five lights in a circle rose up across the sky. Now it was a bright and white star – it was like a big thundercloud! And then a huge moon was coming at you and you started to cry out for help. It was a cry to save me! And this was the cry of my friend Dhamma

Cosmology and Buddhism!


"Read me a Buddhism story"



The Buddha is still around, but his teachings will never die

It's very hard to escape those fears again Ayn Rand

This is how the real danger in any relationship takes you to another planet

She's my friend and confidant she's my brother I love her in a way that never goes away Frown

We all had our moments of vulnerability in our lives, only then did we realize how much of a risk we were in. It's only natural that we would be scared. We knew what to look out for if we wanted to survive. When I grew up my parents took me to their schools so I could learn how to handle bullies the same way they learn when it comes to bullying. They taught me how to respect others so that it doesn't make us scared. They taught us to live with the world as it has always been and to be the good person we were supposed to be when we were younger. I know now that I'm not scared anymore, not for some reason though. I've learned to respect people.

This may sound scary, but there is another reason to love the Buddha so much. He is not scared. He believes that in any relationship you need to know and do everything right. This means constantly being sure that everything will get better every little bit as it goes along. 

Are you still reading?!


This does not make any sense! Have you not realized that the Machine Learning algorithm cannot be intelligent! Cannot have mind! And cannot write a poem! Although they are generating paragraphs after paragraphs, they do not "mean" or "understand" their writing. The generation of paragraph is a result of studying the pattern and frequency of words without knowing the meaning of words. Moreover, for "syntactic" languages, such as Chinese and Japanese, where language is constructed by their shapes and positions, John Searle's "Chinese Room Argument" points out that " genuine thought and understand require something more than mere computation." [2]


To better understand how does machine learning generate text, I wrote one myself. If you are not convinced by my previous words and the many non-sense that was generated by the text generator API, please check the blog.


"Read me a Buddhism story"


I do this by the power of my intuition, but it gets exhausting after a while. I think I was there. The feeling of that other person's being there. I feel there is this great warmth that flows from it… This is the moment when it breaks. This moment when it ends again. This is the moment when the world shuts off, leaves no one behind.


If it's all right, it just doesn't get any darker…

I think my world is too complicated. Even I have a mind of my own, but it's all too difficult.


I've always been a Buddhist. But in China, in America, in Japan, some people are like 'oh my god, my world is so messy'. This is why I say 'you know, China is messy', because this is one of the world's great problems. Because to me, it's messy. It's also messy outside of China.


'You know where people are going to be next?' I asked myself. I said 'I want to see that.' It's kind of like my life. 'Oh no'. That was then. I just wanted to explore that new space. What will this time be like?

In the end, that was all.

Additionally, the text generator API is an unsupervised language model, which means that words are selected purely based on the dictionary and arranged according to their frequency, just like input method association. There is no formal rule that restricts/regulates the generated text. This is why even though we input "read me a Buddhism poem," the text generator would likely to ignore the request of a poem and generate random paragraphs. You can learn more about unsupervised model in this blog.


"Read me a Buddhism story"


Stop reading this blog, read some real books. 
(This is written by me.)
(Do you believe the previous statement?)

Reference:


5 views0 comments

Buddhism and AI

©2022 by Buddhism and AI. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page